Independence Day Is Celebrated On 15 August Every Year In India

Independence Day is celebrated on 15 August every year in India. It is a national holiday in country commemorating the nation’s independence from the British Empire on 15 August 1947.

Independence Day

On the 71st Independence Day on Tuesday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will hoist the tri-colour from the ramparts of Red Fort for the fourth time.

After unfurling the national flag, Modi will address the nation. Heightened security arrangements have been put in place for Independence Day celebrations in wake of terrorists striking crowded places worldwide.

Nearly 6,000 security personnel and hundreds of CCTV cameras will monitor from three control-rooms the venue at Red Fort, from where the prime minister will address the nation in presence of dignitaries, including foreign representatives and thousands of visitors.

The President addresses the nation on the eve of the Independence Day. Against the backdrop of attacks on Dalits and minorities, President Pranab Mukherjee on Sunday said these incidents should be dealt with “firmly”, calling the violence against weaker sections that militate against the national ethos as “aberrations”.

Sand artists Sudarsan Pattnaik and Manas Kumar Sahoo created sand sculptures to pay homage to those who brought us freedom, near the Light House at the golden sea beach in Puri.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.